Purchase or Lease for Vehicle "Rollback" or "Unwind" (Previous Sale Failed) Newbie With Questions

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gadget619

Hello,

Newbie here with some questions and a story to tell...
Please help me to understand if this is a good vehicle purchase or not. I have not leased a vehicle before and would appreciate feedback and advice. I have read through many threads but haven't seen this scenario. Great forum and I look forward to contributing as I learn more. Thank you in advance for any assistance members provide!

I am in Southern California and ready to buy a 2015 Nissan Leaf SL. I had an "interesting" experience with a salesman at the dealer who was trying to sell me a used vehicle as a new vehicle. The 2015 SL was previously sold on November 9, 2015, taken home by the buyer and then returned to the dealership after one week on November 17th. This is now a used vehicle, however, all rebates and incentives are still valid. The salesman tried to sell me the vehicle as "new" stating it is an "Unwind" sale. I specifically asked if the vehicle was being sold as new or used and the salesperson said "new". There was no MSRP or other stickers on the vehicle exterior. I found the "Used Car" notice in the glove box after test driving the vehicle with the words "UNWIND VEHICLE" on the notice.