Cold weather longer charge times

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

groingo

My 2014 Leaf drives the exact same route and distance dally now 35,000 miles 12 bars but once the temperature dipped below 42 degrees I have lost over ten miles range but it now takes twice as long and twice the power to charge the car to do the same job, this is with the 110 charger.
I read a report on Lithium batteries in electric cars from MIT that cold temps will slow down the charging process because of increased resistance which makes sense.
At this point with the increased cost of power (power company PSE has increased rates 5 times this year alone) it is less expensive to drive my Geo Metro.
Dealer and Nissan USA no help, looks like one of those things they'd rather not talk about, car will be sold in spring.

Now, I'm no electrician or electrical engineer, but doesn't the traction battery pull the same amount of electricity from that 110 socket to fully charge - whether it's 70 degrees F. or 30 degrees F.? I mean sure, it takes longer due to the resistance, but the same amount of juice is sent into the batteries. Or am I wrong? Anyone else here who can enlighten us on this, please chime in. I also charge via 110 v.

The car will use more power while driving in cold weather due to higher rolling resistance, higher aerodynamic drag, and heater/defroster use. Therefore, it will require more energy from the wall to recharge. Higher internal resistance of the battery theoretically increases charging losses, but the resistance increase is not a lot so the net effect on charging energy is minimal. Level 2 (208 or240 volt) charging is more efficient than L1 so it is beneficial to use L2, if available.