Neurosion

2013 Leaf SL, should I buy?

Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:16 am

Hi all,

I've been coveting the Leaf since 2011. Was planning to hold out another year before buying, but my old Civic unexpectedly failed. Looking forward to joining this community earlier than expected. :D

I was all set to buy a certified pre-owned 2013 SL with 12 bars and premium package for $9k. While verifying all the features I realized it does not in fact have the premium package as the salesman claimed. Despite this the dealership won't budge on the price.

Now I'm hesitating. Is the car still a good deal at $9k? Am I likely to find one with the premium package for a similar price if I keep searching? I'd really like to have the AroundCam, but the lowest price I see on Carfax or Carmax for an SL with confirmed premium package is $10.5k.

Would appreciate any advice!

LeftieBiker
Delivery Date: 31 May 2013

Re: 2013 Leaf SL, should I buy?

Sat Jan 07, 2017 1:09 pm

The SV without Premium is definitely worth less than the ones with it. They are the last non-S cars to sell. I'd try for some kind of discount, or maybe a dirt cheap extended warranty (Try Nissan's Gold Preferred, and insist on $500, no more). Failing that, it really depends on how much you want Premium (four cameras and the Bose stereo upgrade). If you definitely want it, you'll regret not getting it. If it's just the salescreature's dishonesty that's bugging you, make them pay for it.
2013 "Brilliant Silver" SV with Premium Package and no QC, and 2009 Vectrix VX-1 with 18 Leaf cells.

The most offensive, tasteless phrase in use here is "Pulled the trigger." I no longer respond to posts that use it.

Nagorak
Delivery Date: 03 Jan 2017
Leaf Number: 417128

Sat Jan 07, 2017 7:30 pm

How does the mileage compare to those other Leafs? If it has fewer miles and more capacity bars that could account for the difference.