4 prong dryer cord with 3 prong leaf charger

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gloomis

Sorry everyone, total newbie here.

I just purchased a used 2013 Nissan Leaf. Currently, I am renting a home so I can not install anything in the garage. My laundry room is directly inside the garage door though and the cord will easily reach the dryer outlet. The problem is the dryer outlet is a 4 pronged hole and the cord is three pronged. Can I run to Home Depot and get an adapter? Or is there something wrong with that?

Thanks!

You probably won't be able to purchase a pre-made converter cable but you can easily make one with a 4 pronged male plug and correct 3 prong female, along with some #10 gauge wire with 3 wires inside it(available by the foot at Home Depot). Note finding a female end(other than an outlet you'd need to mount in an outlet box) may be hard. I mean you can go the plug, wire, single outlet box, outlet, outlet cover, route but an easier solution might be to just cut(or preferably take apart and remove if it's not a molded plug) the existing EVSE plug and wire on the one you want.
Your EVSE will have 2 hot wires and a green ground. When wiring on the new plug connect the hots to the hot, ground to ground and the neutral lug on your plug won't have anything connected to it. No safety issue as EVSEs don't use a neutral, just two hots. Well if it's a 120/240v EVSE it will use a neutral when plugged into a 120v outlet but in that case your outlet neutral will go to one of the hot wires going into the EVSE, doesn't matter which one.

There's (usually) nothing wrong with using an adapter to go between different plug types, but you probably won't find it at a store -- you'll either have to order it online, or make one (not hard).