pmc

Steel Rims vs. Alloy ... buying used wheels for winter tires

Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:37 am

I've been shopping around for used rims / wheels for my 2013 Leaf for a set of winter snow tires.

Having read here that a range of OEM Altima wheels (2002-2006 ?) will fit the Leaf, I've got a line on some used steel wheels for very reasonable price within a 90 minute drive.

I also found a set of OEM Altima alloys, more expensive and conveniently (!) located 4 hours away.

I can make an excuse to drive to get the alloys but am curious if the weight difference between the steelies and alloys is great enough to justify getting the alloys over the steelies.

FWIW our Leaf commute is roughly 22 miles one way and use roughly 35% of a full charge each direction. So round trip in average temperatures uses roughly 70% charge, so I expect to lose some range once winter hits. This is our first year with the Leaf so haven't experienced winter range loss yet, and if one set of rims would make much difference over the other.

Looking at putting winter Nokkians on these rims.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on which rims you'd go for. :)
2013 SV (6.6kw, no QC) - purchased used 4/2017
JuiceBox 40 Pro .. man, this thing charges fast!

palmermd
Delivery Date: 31 Mar 2011
Leaf Number: 1100011011

Re: Steel Rims vs. Alloy ... buying used wheels for winter tires

Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:59 am

I could be wrong, but I don't believe there is a huge difference in weight on the factory alloy wheels versus the steel. It is mostly cosmetic. You can get lighter aftermarket wheels, and it can make a difference, but your biggest concern in winter driving range will be due to the use of the heater. Several people have resorted to heated jackets, and the like, to avoid using the heating system too much.
Michael

Leaf since 31 March 2011
Driving electric since 1996

First Bar Loss
Second Bar Loss
Third Bar Loss

jjeff
Delivery Date: 13 Jul 2014
Leaf Number: 422121

Sun Dec 03, 2017 12:16 pm