Buying a used leaf, need some advice

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

discostu

Hi all, hoping to get some input from you experts, as I'm new to the EV world.
Looking to buy a used Leaf and I have two that I'm interested in. Both are in fairly good shape, but here's the question:
One if a 2011 with about 40k miles on it and the other is a 2014 with about 100k miles. I know the 2013 and beyond had some enhancements, but would it be better to take the older one due to the lower mileage? I think both owners said the battery shows about 10/12 bars.
Thanks for the help!
Stu

Generally, you are better off with the 2014 in most respects since it still has some battery warranty left and it is possilble you might drop two more bars in the next year, but it's unlikely.
You are better off paying a little more and looking for one with better battery stats.

The general rule is to stay away from 2011 and 2012, and S models. Wow, 100,000 miles on a 2014 is very hard to do. That is an average of somewhere around 65 miles per day. You should be paying a low price for that many miles. Ask that person what their typical usage and charging pattern was.

warrenc said:
Generally, you are better off with the 2014 in most respects since it still has some battery warranty left and it is possilble you might drop two more bars in the next year, but it's unlikely.
You are better off paying a little more and looking for one with better battery stats.

Yes, I am leaning towards the 14, but 100k puts it past the warranty. Thanks for the fast response!

jake14mw said:
The general rule is to stay away from 2011 and 2012, and S models. Wow, 100,000 miles on a 2014 is very hard to do. That is an average of somewhere around 65 miles per day. You should be paying a low price for that many miles. Ask that person what their typical usage and charging pattern was.