johnrhansen
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:23 pm
Delivery Date: 15 Jun 2013
Leaf Number: 409445
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Thu Dec 25, 2014 5:49 pm

I'm in the same boat. Unfortunately, I think it's more of a pain to add the cruise control than it would be to just live with it. As for the backup camera. I bet a car stereo shop could fix you up.
2013 S model with quick charge package.
AV 30 amp level 2 EVSE, Bosch PowerMax 30 Amp EVSE, EVSE upgraded EVSE.

Roadburner440
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:42 pm
Location: Hampton, VA

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Fri Dec 26, 2014 1:33 pm

People have had success adding backups cameras to the Leaf's. Not sure on the 13+ S models if they have the harnesses installed or not like the older cars. However for most it was just a matter of buying the bezel, camera, and installing the stuff. I would think for the S it should be plug and play as well because it seems Nissan doesn't like spending money designing special parts.

As far as the DCQC plug goes don't feel bad guys. I bought the QC option on my car thinking they would be rolling these chademo stations out, and I have never even seen a single one. I think the next time I drive the truck or our diesel car to DC I am just going to go see one so I can at least see what it looks like.
Steve
2012 Cayenne Red Leaf SL #16790
2016 Chevrolet Volt LT Kinetic Blue
Turned in: 2012 Chevy Volt #2395

knightmb
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:41 pm
Delivery Date: 15 Sep 2013
Leaf Number: 414897
Location: Franklin, TN

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:53 pm

Roadburner440 wrote:People have had success adding backups cameras to the Leaf's. Not sure on the 13+ S models if they have the harnesses installed or not like the older cars. However for most it was just a matter of buying the bezel, camera, and installing the stuff. I would think for the S it should be plug and play as well because it seems Nissan doesn't like spending money designing special parts.

As far as the DCQC plug goes don't feel bad guys. I bought the QC option on my car thinking they would be rolling these chademo stations out, and I have never even seen a single one. I think the next time I drive the truck or our diesel car to DC I am just going to go see one so I can at least see what it looks like.


I agree, the cruise control is probably there, just missing the buttons to activate it. Since the leaf is drive by wire, adding cruise control should be as simple as getting the buttons and the car to recognize it. Not like the cruise control on a gas car that requires actual mechanical components to be installed.

User avatar
keydiver
Posts: 1080
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:04 pm
Delivery Date: 08 Dec 2011
Leaf Number: 16484
Location: Hobe Sound, Florida
Contact: Website

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:26 am

knightmb wrote:I agree, the cruise control is probably there, just missing the buttons to activate it. Since the leaf is drive by wire, adding cruise control should be as simple as getting the buttons and the car to recognize it. Not like the cruise control on a gas car that requires actual mechanical components to be installed.


Interesting theory, and it should be very easy to find out:
Image
As you can see, all of the cruise related switches are simply different resistors to ground, which will send a different voltage/signal to pin #104 of the VCM. The voltages are on this chart:
Image

Without having a cruise switch to measure the 4 different resistor values, or knowing the resistor value of the divider network built into the VCM, you will just need to use trial-and-error to find the correct resistor values. I'd just use a potentiometer. The first one I would try is the simple 4 volt/switch to ground=turn cruise ON/OFF. If the dash display comes on, I'd say your theory is correct. :)
2012 Glacier Pearl SL - Delivered December 8, 2011
10kW Solar PV for recharging!
2006 Prius with Hymotion 5kWh PHEV upgrade
Tesla 70D | Titanium Metallic | Matte Obeche Wood Décor| All Glass Panoramic Roof
Tesla Model 3 Pre-Ordered!

knightmb
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:41 pm
Delivery Date: 15 Sep 2013
Leaf Number: 414897
Location: Franklin, TN

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:36 am

keydiver wrote:
knightmb wrote:I agree, the cruise control is probably there, just missing the buttons to activate it. Since the leaf is drive by wire, adding cruise control should be as simple as getting the buttons and the car to recognize it. Not like the cruise control on a gas car that requires actual mechanical components to be installed.


Interesting theory, and it should be very easy to find out:
Image
As you can see, all of the cruise related switches are simply different resistors to ground, which will send a different voltage/signal to pin #104 of the VCM. The voltages are on this chart:
Image

Without having a cruise switch to measure the 4 different resistor values, or knowing the resistor value of the divider network built into the VCM, you will just need to use trial-and-error to find the correct resistor values. I'd just use a potentiometer. The first one I would try is the simple 4 volt/switch to ground=turn cruise ON/OFF. If the dash display comes on, I'd say your theory is correct. :)

The only issue I see is if the dash even has a "cruise on" light, even if we did figure what turns it on/off, we would not know when we had it "on" but only by memory or the car keeps driving when letting off the accelerator. Thanks for the diagram, it does look straight forward for testing. :D

Thetaz01
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:21 am
Delivery Date: 09 Dec 2013
Leaf Number: 419569

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:24 am

OK, so im dying to know, has anyone tried this..
Tech seems simple enough, and should absolutely work...
also, forgive me, I am new, if NO one has tried this I will!!
Where is the VCM? is in behind the glove box with the pedestrian sound module??

I will absolutely try this..

In addition, I cant help but ask.. any one know or have done this.. I
was to TURN OFF the VSP NOTHING else, I was able to remove all sounds from the car by unplugging the VSP module..
however I got rid of the back up beep, and the turn on chimes..
All I want to be able to turn on and Off is the VSP sound when im moving..
any one done this?? know what PIN on the VSP I need to put a switch into??
Last edited by Thetaz01 on Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Thetaz01
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:21 am
Delivery Date: 09 Dec 2013
Leaf Number: 419569

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:48 am

<BUMP>
Anyone got anything on this??
I might try and locate the VCM myself, im thinking behind the glove box.. BUT any help would be much appreciated...
also, Im still hoping to hear back as to which PINS I need to interrupt with a switch to be able to turn on and off the JUST the VSP
Thanks everyone


Thetaz01 wrote:OK, so im dying to know, has anyone tried this..
Tech seems simple enough, and should absolutely work...
also, forgive me, I am new, if NO one has tried this I will!!
Where is the VCM? is in behind the glove box with the pedestrian sound module??

I will absolutely try this..

In addition, I cant help but ask.. any one know or have done this.. I
was to TURN OFF the VSP NOTHING else, I was able to remove all sounds from the car by unplugging the VSP module..
however I got rid of the back up beep, and the turn on chimes..
All I want to be able to turn on and Off is the VSP sound when im moving..
any one done this?? know what PIN on the VSP I need to put a switch into??

knightmb
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:41 pm
Delivery Date: 15 Sep 2013
Leaf Number: 414897
Location: Franklin, TN

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:06 am

I am preparing to, still getting warranty work finished up on mine before I start really diving in to this. Probably going to suspend the front wheels off the ground when testing in case cruise gets stuck for example :o

Thetaz01
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:21 am
Delivery Date: 09 Dec 2013
Leaf Number: 419569

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:10 am

knightmb wrote:I am preparing to, still getting warranty work finished up on mine before I start really diving in to this. Probably going to suspend the front wheels off the ground when testing in case cruise gets stuck for example :o



HAHAH.. Nice..
can you tell me.. where is the VCM Module??
is it behind the glove box.. I have time this weekend, I am all for giving it a shot if I can get a firm location on the VCM..
also would you happen to know what pins on the VSP would allow me to shut off the VSP Sound??
PS great point... I think I will also jack up the front with a jack and some jack stands.. JUST IN CASE!!

User avatar
keydiver
Posts: 1080
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:04 pm
Delivery Date: 08 Dec 2011
Leaf Number: 16484
Location: Hobe Sound, Florida
Contact: Website

Re: Is there any way to add a cruise control kit to the S?

Fri Jan 23, 2015 2:46 pm

Thetaz01 wrote:can you tell me.. where is the VCM Module?? is it behind the glove box..


Yes, it appears to be behind the glove box. This picture is with the glove box cover removed:
Image

I think I will also jack up the front with a jack and some jack stands.. JUST IN CASE!!


I think that is a bit extreme. The CC will not engage unless you are already doing 25 mph. So, you should be able to see if the "Cruise" lamp on the dash comes on, and even test for the different resistor values without the car even moving or taken out of Park.
2012 Glacier Pearl SL - Delivered December 8, 2011
10kW Solar PV for recharging!
2006 Prius with Hymotion 5kWh PHEV upgrade
Tesla 70D | Titanium Metallic | Matte Obeche Wood Décor| All Glass Panoramic Roof
Tesla Model 3 Pre-Ordered!

Return to “Accessories / Mods”