Looking for Battery Capacity Warranty documents

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rikke

I'm looking for the documentation that explains when Nissan will replace my traction battery and cover the full cost.
I can't find it.

My 2012 leaf with 30k has 55Amp hours left and and seems to be on track to qualify for a battery replacment.
I've read alot on this forum about the 5 years/60,000 mile capacity warranty.
I've looked through all the pages of battery notifications i was given at the time of sale, and the user manual and warranty manual but i don't see a capacity warranty explained any where.

Any one know where it is in writing?
I'm goiong to call Nissan this week too.

Thanks
Rick

I'm not an expert on this, but I believe you just need to contact Nissan with the VIN, and then have a dealer verify the battery status and mileage. You shouldn't have to prove anything else except that you own the car.

Rikke said:
I'm looking for the documentation that explains when Nissan will replace my traction battery and cover the full cost.
I can't find it.

My 2012 leaf with 30k has 55Amp hours left and and seems to be on track to qualify for a battery replacment.
I've read alot on this forum about the 5 years/60,000 mile capacity warranty.
I've looked through all the pages of battery notifications i was given at the time of sale, and the user manual and warranty manual but i don't see a capacity warranty explained any where.
http://www.mynissanleaf.com/viewtopic.php?t=13192

The capacity warranty didn't exist when the '11 and '12 were first sold, so of course it's not in the warranty booklet of those cars. We didn't know about it until the above. Previous owners/lessees should've received snail mail about the addition of the capacity warranty.