Disappointed with Bay Area, Ca public charging

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mgs333

I'm surprised there isn't a sticky thread for the Bay Area given that this is probably the region with the greatest uptake of EVs and Leafs.

Anyway, as a new Leaf driver, I've been researching the public charging infrastructure around the Bay Area for a while, then one day I looked at So Cal's charging network for kicks and was surprised to see the network down there is much more robust vs up here.

Bay Area QC network: http://i.imgur.com/aWkOtso.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

So Cal QC network: http://i.imgur.com/duLCqn0.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Adding L2s makes doesn't change the picture much, in fact, it seems to make So Cal even better covered.

For the most common driving scenario where one would need a charge (driving from SJ to SF and back,) the options in SF are pretty slim. Plus all the dealers here seem to only let people who bought from them use their QC, if they're even up in the first place and not blocked by employees' cars.

I guess I'm just surprised that So Cal has a much better infrastructure than the Bay Area given that I would have thought the network would be the best here.

QC coverage is more local than your terms indicate. As a San Diego driver - in Southern California but not in the Los Angeles metro area - things don't look so good here as your LA map indicates. Similarly a San Ramon driver might look enviously at the San Jose portion of your map. Still it's all MUCH better than it was a couple of years ago.

I think QC coverage is most closely correlated with how much money Dynegy stole from consumers in 2001 in each region, hence how many eVgo stations are built. Blink isn't much of a factor given their poor reliability, frequent ICEing, halt to expansion, and punitive pricing.