How is everyone getting these $10,000 off MSRP deals?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hackdroot

So I've been shopping for a used 2013/14 leaf for the past week. Financing one would cancel out my current fuel costs, so it would be a wash financially each month.

I've noticed a number of people doing purchases where they are claiming $10k off MSRP AND the $7500 fed credit and $2500 CA Rebate.

If I could pull off a 27k out-the-door 2017 leaf, plus 0% APR for 5-6 yrs, I would certainly opt for that over a used 2013 since I can take advantage of the Fed credit and the extra range of the newer model.

I haven't new car shopped in over 15 years. How are people getting these deals?

It's regional. Nissan partners with energy company X or cooperative Y, and all Leaf customers in state Z are eligible for the 10k off just by showing their latest electric bill.

At least that's how it worked for me, I assume it's the same elsewhere.

Here's a link targeting Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina and Florida.

https://electrek.co/2017/04/14/nissan-leaf-discounting/

Out of curiosity I sent and email to the Ohio email listed on the page and received this back from a person at nissan-usa.com.

"We are offering a $10,000 incentive for Duke Energy, IPL, AEP, NIPSCO and some other utility customers and employees. The incentive is for a purchase, not a lease. You would take a copy of the flyer and your utility bill to your LEAF certified dealer to obtain the discount."

Thanks for the link. Best deal I've seen locally is a $4000 incentive. Still not enough to push me over the fence and I'm not interested in leasing, which seems to be where all the deals are right now.

hackdroot said: