Charging equipment for Leaf? Totally confused :(

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SashaAtlanta

Hi, I'm picking up a 2013 Leaf S today. It has the charging package with a 6.6kw battery and a CHAdeMo socket as well as the standard socket. I'm wondering what I need to do level 2 charging at home. I have a dryer outlet close to the driveway that looks like a 10-30R and some 250v L6-30 sockets at the back of the garage with 30A fuses.

I'd like to charge the Leaf on a timer overnight. Any suggestions? I can do a bit of soldering, but I'm no electrical expert so would get an electrician in if necessary.

There's a CHAdeMO station 5 minutes away, so no tearing hurry but charging at home would be nice.

The dryer outlet should work. Just get an EVSE (charging station) with the appropriate plug attached. Clipper Creek makes good, inexpensive units and will add the plug before shipping. You can't use more than 24 amps on a 30 amp circuit, so something like their HCS 25 should work fine for overnight charging. It will charge at 20 amps. An HCS-30 should also work, assuming it charges at 24 amps.

Thank you so much LeftieBiker! I edited my post to say that the dryer socket looks like a 10-30R.

I'm not from the US and these strange looking sockets have me a bit bewildered!

You should be able to get a plug installed that will work with both your dryer socket and 50 amp RV park outlets. The Neutral plug is not used for EVSE installations, so it would have 3 prongs - Ground and 2 Hots.

SashaAtlanta said:
Thank you so much LeftieBiker! I edited my post to say that the dryer socket looks like a 10-30R.

I'm not from the US and these strange looking sockets have me a bit bewildered!

When you order from Clipper Creek, send them a photo of the socket you plan on plugging into, just to be sure.

Have a look at this thread: