MPaulHolmes
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 1:19 pm
Delivery Date: 30 Dec 2015

Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:10 pm

Where is the access point for the 400v high voltage on a leaf? I mean, before the contactors and everything, how do I get access to +400v. For example, if I removed the 12v battery, where would I stick the volt meter so it would read +400v (or 360v or whatever)?

-Paul

RNM
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:11 am
Delivery Date: 05 Mar 2016
Leaf Number: 012707

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:10 pm

Inside the main pack, very well sealed, no access

MPaulHolmes
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 1:19 pm
Delivery Date: 30 Dec 2015

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:44 pm

Dang it. OK. Let's say you push the little on button. Now, what would be the easiest point for 400v access?

VitaminJ
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:46 am
Delivery Date: 07 Jan 2017
Leaf Number: 415775
Location: Morrison, CO
Contact: YouTube

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:53 pm

2013 Ocean Blue SV w/ QC and LED
- +0.2 mi/kwh Aeromods
- Leaf Box
- 2lb 5Ah LiFe 12v battery

MPaulHolmes
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 1:19 pm
Delivery Date: 30 Dec 2015

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:55 pm

That dog'll hunt!

RNM
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:11 am
Delivery Date: 05 Mar 2016
Leaf Number: 012707

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:03 pm



removing the 12V battery, that does not work.

Cool videos, though

MPaulHolmes
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 1:19 pm
Delivery Date: 30 Dec 2015

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:54 pm

Basically, I would like to have a nice quick way to attach the Leaf battery pack to my home made MPPT solar charger, and also to connect the pack to my homemade split phase 120v/240v inverter. A sort of ghetto V2H, until which time I figure out how to use the $10,000 Chademo plug. right now I'm using some super old 7amp*hr lead acid batteries to get the 400v, which provide essentially no capacity once the sun sets. And it's PHoenix, AZ, which means it's already 150 degrees outside.
Last edited by MPaulHolmes on Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

arnis
Posts: 715
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 3:21 pm
Delivery Date: 23 Jul 2014
Leaf Number: 015896
Location: Estonia, Europe

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:45 am

If you don't know the answers for those simple questions I would recommend you to not poke
all kinds of things in HV Leaf system.

Later on you will start asking "what is good voltage to charge to" and eventually something will blow.
You need to know everything before you start poking stuff.
Short range EVs <30kWh -- Medium range: 30-60kWh -- Long range: >60kWh
Charging: Trickle <3kW -- Normal 3-22kW -- Fast 50-100kW -- Supercharging >100kW

User avatar
JeremyW
Posts: 1514
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:53 am
Delivery Date: 23 Jun 2012
Leaf Number: 19136
Location: San Gabriel, CA

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Wed Mar 15, 2017 6:50 am

I highly recommend you go through the CHAdeMO port. You can get cables from EVTV.me for $1300.
Former 2012 SL leasee 6/23/12 - 9/23/15
Now driving Honda Fit EV, License plate: CHADEMO
2000 Honda Insight for long trips

MPaulHolmes
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 1:19 pm
Delivery Date: 30 Dec 2015

Re: Accessing high voltage on a leaf

Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:17 pm

Is the chademo protocol documentation specific enough like the following? I do all the code myself, so I would have to know the communications required in detail for it to work.
The CAN packets can be between 1 and 8 bytes. Could I expect to see something as specific as the following in that $150 documentation?:
car sends (let's pretend hex):
10 03 4f 3f

Oh, the documentation says 10 03 means "message x", and 4f 3f means "data".

I must wait "x" units of time before answering with my own data packet....

I send:
45 5d 34 4a 5f a2
Car sends:
5e
I must wait "y" units of time
I send:
89 75 43
...
etc..
And, does the documentation tell me how the encoding is done for things like "what is your max voltage", "what is your charge rate", etc? If the chademo protocol isn't very specific so that I can't translate what they are saying into C, it would be a waste of $150 for me to get it.
.

Return to “Engineering”