Apparent rapid discharge while plugged in

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mud

Hi, I'm very new with the behaviors of electric cars. We've only had this used 2013 S for a little over 200 miles.

Today I let the car charge up to 80% on its own. Shortly after reaching 80%, I decided I wanted to push it up closer to 100%. With the car still plugged in, I got in, turned it on, and changed it so that it would charge to 100%.

15 minutes or so later, I stepped within Bluetooth range of the car and turned on my phone with Leaf Spy to see how it was doing. I saw that the state of charge was dropping, as were the GIDs and mileage estimate. When I got into the car and turned it on, the instruments in the car agreed that everything had been discharging for the previous 15 or 20 minutes.

I don't remember everything I did, but I at least turned off the car, unplugged the EVSC, and plugged it back in at some point. It seemed to begin to charge *up* again.

Afterward, I checked the smart meter on our house and the kill-a-watt the level one EVSC was plugged into just to verify power was flowing in the right direction. I wish I had done that while it was apparently flowing the wrong direction, but everything seems fine now.

I don't think I yet understand the graph for a Leaf Spy, but I assume it is showing real power and apparent power. I'll post some screenshots below and you can note the time stamps from my phone.

Screenshots:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/tosxfn7sghqunmr/AABaVg3gcyUoxnUVI1kabpnwa?dl=0

I would definitely love to get people's thoughts on this.

First, when you change anything in the timer, it does not take effect until after you turn the car off.
Second, if you want to charge to 100% after starting an 80% charge, use the overide button to the left of the steering wheel.
Third, any chance that the heater or air conditioner was on?