Something (was Nothing)

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
As "J.R. Ewing" once notably said, "Once you lose your integrity, the rest is a piece of cake!".

I would strongly suggest that while you are at it, that you post how one could upgrade an ungrounded 2-prong 120v outlet to a grounded 3-prong 120v outlet by adding a properly grounded 12AWG green ground wire (or at least suggest having an electrician make the alteration at reasonable cost -- they need the work these days!). It is not an "emergency" if your work-around is used multiple times at an outlet that you have the ability to upgrade to one having a proper equipment ground.

Lopton: I'm not an electrician, but I aspire to particularly learn about residential wiring safety issues (because of NEC code changes over time, poor wiring installs encountered, etc). I only have a copy of NEC 2008 (not 2011), but cannot find your reference there. Can you please elaborate on the point you were trying to make?

I was under the impression that one could safely (i.e. following current NEC code) add a grounding wire to a particular outlet by running a green grounding wire from that upgraded 3-prong outlet back to the circuit breaker service panel's ground (without going to the considerable expense of rewiring an entire house which only has ungrounded 2-prong outlets).

I am assuming the Ground Fault protection is added via the Level 1 EVSE used. What am I not correctly understanding?

Instead of paying the cost to add a ground wire to a circuit, you can instead add GFCI outlets or circuit breakers to bring it up to code.