2021 Update on Non-Tesla DC Fast Charging Station Density in North America: Oklahoma on Top--Maybe

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paulgipe

My, my, how things change. I’ve been tracking non-Tesla DCFC station density for the past three years as a prod for the Golden State to get its act together. See Update on Non-Tesla DC Fast Charging Station Density in North America (2020), and California Lags in DC Fast-Charging Station Density for Electric Vehicles (2018).

We like to think we’re the greenest of the green here. My point was we weren’t. We’d fallen behind the Canadians—yes, the Canadian provinces of Quebec and British Columbia in the Great White North.

Finally, Electrify America and California brought on line a string of stations that I’d been waiting for. The state program was a nearly five-year long wait, but their stations are now up and running and I can get to where I want to go. So I had little interest in examining station density again. Been there, done that.

That is, until the Wall Street Journal called.

I don’t get many calls from the Journal and I don’t bother to answer all of those. This call was from the news side and they wanted to talk about DCFC station density. Now I was on the hook.

While I was talking to the reporter I thought I should pull up the numbers and see if my rankings had changed. Sure enough California had moved up from fourth place to second place behind Quebec. (Those Canadians again.) That slew of new stations in the California Energy Commission’s program had made a difference.

Well, it was the Journal and a lot of people still read it so I thought maybe I should do the whole table over again. There might be other changes worthy of the Journal’s attention.