jwallace3
Delivery Date: 01 Aug 2011
Leaf Number: 6014

My L1 ESVE findings.....

Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:33 am

I'm an electrical engineer and have been looking for a cheap easy way to mod the panasonic esve that comes with the leaf to allow for L1 or L2 charging. Mainly so I can visit my parents down in Columbia, TN and I live in Springfield, TN which is about 64 miles each way. Anyway, I successfully made a small wiring mod last night which consisted of me changing out the 120 volt pigtail to a 240 pigtail I made and running a jumper on the inside of the unit. This will allow me to put it all back to the original setup if I need to for some other reason. Utilizing another pigtail which plugs into my new pigtail I mounted the unit I can also charge legacy L1. The entire circuit board is sealed in a rubber like potting material so I'm trying not to disturb that if possible. I will be working on a little better way to complete the 240/120 mod since the way I have it right now disables some of the safety features of the unit. I did charge successfully from 3 bars to 12 last night in 7 hours so a little slower than the 16 amp charging which would have taken about 5 or so. I will also be working on an easy way to extend the pulse width of the 1kHz square wave to allow for full 16 amp charging instead of the 12 amp that I'm currently charging at. Since I'm not modifying the existing electronics, I will probably be using a small micro to do an input capture of the pulse and extend the pulse with my micro. Space is the main constraint so it will have to be a small micro with that functionality. So just a heads up for those interested I will be posting my final results once I clean up the process and have good pics with instructions. Also as a heads up I'm currently working with my alma mater (Western Kentucky University) engineering department and am advising on a senior project to develop a portable, inexpensive 120/240 esve with 12-20 amp functionality. After the prototype i