Gid Vs SOC and Cell Balance Issue

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vaggeto

Hi,

I started a longer than normal commute home today. I'm a comfortable LeafSpy pro user and have a good feel for what miles/kwh I can get. I decided to try to make it home by driving very conservatively but half way into the drive things were not going as planned.

I started with (per the dashboard) 46% SOC on my 2015 Nissan Leaf.
I needed to go 40 miles. It was about 100* outside and the leaf was parked out in the sun. (it normally isn't)
I pulled up Leafspy Pro and it determined I needed to do 4.7miles/kwh before hitting VLBW.
As I had 22/40 miles left in my drive, LeafSpy was now saying I needed well over 5m/kwh to get evne 20 miles but the dashboard efficency which I reset at the start of the drive said I was at 4.6m/kwh.

I decided I would need to stop to charge and got to a Nissan dealership. By the time I got there it said 10% left on the dashboard. Shortly after working with the dealership to get to a charging port, I started the car again and it was only 6%!
As I stopped I was at 6% dashboard SOC (dashes), 29.1 miles driven at 4.6m/kwh economy.

According to my math, I shouldn't have run out of power so quickly. I seem to have some inbalance in my cells and also have a large difference between %SOC and % GIDS at 6.3% GIDs and 21% SOC as you can see in these screenshots of Leafspy Pro. http://imgur.com/a/xgVBK

Is there anything else I can provide to help understand if there is an issue?

Thanks in advance for any advice/help!

After charging for 75 minutes at ~5200 watts I'm now at 46.7% GIDS and 52.7% SOC and up from 1.4 kWh to 10.4kWh. This doesn't seem possible based on the math of 5200 watts for 1.25 hours - 100watt aux usage while charging.