Page 2 of 2

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:21 pm
by TomT
No, not really.
peter wrote:
Ingineer wrote:Oh, and if your unit has a "seal", due to a design oversight, the cover will slip right off over the seal, so you can leave it "sealed".
If I'm already out of warrenty, is there any reason to preserve the seal?

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:40 pm
by Ingineer
peter wrote:If I'm already out of warrenty, is there any reason to preserve the seal?
There's no reason not to, the cover literally slips over the seal, so it's probably more trouble to remove it.

Also, if you ever sell it, you can state: "Still has the factory seal". :lol:

-Phil

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 9:16 am
by peter
Well Blink covered the repair anyway - seems to be working again (so far).

Only problem is that the ninja electrician came, repaired & left without even ringing the doorbell so I didn't get a chance to talk with him (or her?) to ask what he (or she) did...

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 9:58 pm
by mxp
turbo2ltr wrote:I took the cover off, poked at the CT and it never happened again.
Any pics of the CT? What do you mean "poke" at the CT?

My Blink unit started to behave this way since a month ago. My current fix is to simply unplug the unit for 2-3 mins. Replug in and the issue never comes back for a couple of days.

But, it's been recurring lately....

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:15 pm
by turbo2ltr
Image

Unplug it before you poke. :)

I just moved it around a little.

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:53 pm
by DaveEV
mxp wrote:What do you mean "poke" at the CT?
As Phil says, the proper fix is to slide the CT to the right away from the terminal block. Use some tie wraps to help hold it in place. Having the CT right next to the terminal block causes it to pick up some noise which looks like a ground fault.

When my Blink's SD card/firmware was manually updated, the tech did the exact same thing as Phil described for the same reason.

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:11 pm
by mxp
turbo2ltr wrote:Image

Unplug it before you poke. :)

I just moved it around a little.
Thanks for the picture turbo2ltr.

@drees, thanks for the detailed explanation about moving the CT to the right away from the terminal. It's very clear now with turbo's picture.

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:58 pm
by gonefishin
I wanted to link this thread back to a more detailed thread. http://mynissanleaf.com/viewtopic.php?f ... 14#p430814I tried fixing the crimps, and the CT, but it still faulted on me. Lobotomizing it to a dumb charger worked. Here's a youtube video showing all three:

https://youtu.be/e8yELGmywaY