Page 1 of 2

"A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:41 pm
by turbo2ltr
Starting yesterday I've had a red screen pop up after plugging in saying "A self test fault occurred" and telling me to tap the screen to reset the system. It does some 1 minute softboot, and I get the normal screen, but the same thing happens when I plug in again.

Yesterday I unplugged the blink and plugged it back in..then after it's 10 minute boot sequence, I got the normal screen and tried again and it worked.

Today I plugged in and I got the error again.

Any ideas? How convenient that it breaks right after the warranty runs out.

Didn't someone document some mods to make this a "dumb" EVSE? I don't use any of the blinks features.

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:19 pm
by 91040
Simple fix. The tech will change the SD card, tighten some of the connections, take out the card reader (if there) after which the unit will work fine.
See: http://www.mynissanleaf.com/viewtopic.p ... nk#p220068" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
turbo2ltr wrote:Starting yesterday I've had a red screen pop up after plugging in saying "A self test fault occurred" and telling me to tap the screen to reset the system. It does some 1 minute softboot, and I get the normal screen, but the same thing happens when I plug in again.

Yesterday I unplugged the blink and plugged it back in..then after it's 10 minute boot sequence, I got the normal screen and tried again and it worked.

Today I plugged in and I got the error again.

Any ideas? How convenient that it breaks right after the warranty runs out.

Didn't someone document some mods to make this a "dumb" EVSE? I don't use any of the blinks features.

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:38 am
by davewill
Yeah, it's happened on and off to me for about a year. Every 3-4 months, I seem to get a few days of it in a row. Probably some combination of temperature, humidity, line voltage, or :?: triggers it. Powering the Blink off and back on always clears it. Tapping the screen as the error screen suggests never does. Called Blink in to take care of it while I'm still under warranty.

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:00 am
by peter
Ah now it appears I am having this exact problem, but I opted out of the extended Blink coverage so I'm now my own, and sure as heck don't want to pay for Blink support.

Has anyone successfully fixed this issue themselves? Is it just a matter of relocating the CT's? Pictures would be most appreciated...

I am presently at 2.1.20120404B, E1.10

Thanks.

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:09 am
by Ingineer
Move the CT away from the terminal block, and then re-splice the connections to the CT using solder.

-Phil

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:12 am
by turbo2ltr
I took the cover off, poked at the CT and it never happened again.

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:14 am
by davewill
Ingineer wrote:Move the CT away from the terminal block, and then re-splice the connections to the CT using solder.
That's exactly what the Blink tech did to fix my unit, except that he used a crimp connector to re-splice the connections to the CT. Two months and no faults. If you have any hesitation to do it, I'd try calling Blink anyway. They might well agree to fix it even at this late date, especially if you tell them it was happening before the warranty was up. The worst they can do is say, "No."

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:22 am
by Ingineer
Oh, and if your unit has a "seal", due to a design oversight, the cover will slip right off over the seal, so you can leave it "sealed". :lol:

-Phil

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:28 am
by Ingineer
If you get really tired of it, you can always do this mod.

-Phil

Re: "A self test fault occurred"

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:08 am
by peter
Ingineer wrote:Oh, and if your unit has a "seal", due to a design oversight, the cover will slip right off over the seal, so you can leave it "sealed". :lol:

-Phil
If I'm already out of warrenty, is there any reason to preserve the seal?