Page 1 of 2

Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:13 pm
by umonka
My Blink charger has problems with the Wifi connection ( Dlink 825, only 18feet away from charger) so I ran an ethernet cable directly from the router to the charger, but this is not working either. There is a connection (IP 192.168.0.195) but no communication nor internet. For some reason I cannot even manually configure the LAN connection on the Blink ( which BTW also seems to be terribly slow in recognizing any input on the touchscreen): The IP input line stays grey and cannot be configured.

If anyone has a hardwired connection working:
a. which router ( brand? model? - cable?dsl?) are you using
b. how did you configure the Blink to ( or how did you tell the Blink that you want to use the wired connection rather than keep trying to connect via Wifi )

A list of working devices/configurations (brand/model) would probably be helpful for all of us who have these connection problems...

Cheers!

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:41 pm
by AP1
I assume that you have tried the obvious: Unplug the blink from the power outlet, wait a minute or two, and plug it in again. It should then take you through the configuration screens, including the option of wifi or network.

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:28 am
by thankyouOB
you can charge without the blink connecting to the internet. dont sweat it. call the 888 number.

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:54 am
by TonyWilliams
Yes, I recommend getting the Blink number in your speed dial. I've used it not just for my own problematic Blink (didn't charge yesterday), but I've also called several times on the few public Blinks we have in San Diego. Just called in one of the Blinks at Balboa Park last Saturday.

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:21 am
by umonka
Yes tried restarting and if it wasn't charging without the connection i would have not enjoyed having the car since June, but charging with the Leaf's timer does not work: as soon as I connect the cable the charging begins, which kind of overruns the effort I made by getting a second meter installed ( which cost me a substantial couple thousand bucks, because I had to relocate my entire panel for that upgrade ).
Blink wants me to install a second router ( cisco Valet - which will not replace my other router because I still need that for my home network) ) and I really do not want another wireless transmitter around, actually working on eliminating that entire e-smog as much as possible...
Does anyone use a ASUS RT-N56U without issues? ( this router has all the other requirements I would need for my network...)

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:44 am
by DarkStar
umonka wrote:Blink wants me to install a second router ( cisco Valet - which will not replace my other router because I still need that for my home network) ) and I really do not want another wireless transmitter around, actually working on eliminating that entire e-smog as much as possible...
They told me the same thing, even though I currently run two Netgear routers (different models), one for routing/NAS/802.11n and the other as an 802.11bg AP. I ended up getting a Netgear WNCE2001 and installing it inside of the Blink, works like a champ!

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:57 am
by linkim
DarkStar wrote:
umonka wrote:Blink wants me to install a second router ( cisco Valet - which will not replace my other router because I still need that for my home network) ) and I really do not want another wireless transmitter around, actually working on eliminating that entire e-smog as much as possible...
They told me the same thing, even though I currently run two Netgear routers (different models), one for routing/NAS/802.11n and the other as an 802.11bg AP. I ended up getting a Netgear WNCE2001 and installing it inside of the Blink, works like a champ!
I had the Blink contractor out last week after persistent problems with error signals from the Blink. I could charge after rebooting but that was a hassle. On the second visit the contractor thought the wifi signal was weak, although it did communicate with the Blink. So he added a PLC (Alfa Netorks, HomePlug AV PowerLine AHPE303) and changed SD card again. So far, the unit works. Now if only the software for monitoring energy usage would work, I would be a happy camper. I can only see the log from Apr 22 to bout May 22, 2011. Blink couldn't tell me how to change the log data to see recent energy consumption. Maybe someone else has figured that out.

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:03 am
by davewill
umonka wrote:... but charging with the Leaf's timer does not work: as soon as I connect the cable the charging begins, which kind of overruns the effort I made by getting a second meter installed ( which cost me a substantial couple thousand bucks, because I had to relocate my entire panel for that upgrade ). ...
I can't see any way that the Blink could make the LEAF start charging early if your LEAF timer is set correctly no matter what's wrong with it. Try the timer with the L1 EVSE and see if that works.

As far as hard wiring the network, I have my Blink directly connected to my home network (Netgear router). I ended up giving the Blink a static IP address before it finally connected and worked consistently. Do you have proper link lights at the router? Have you tested the connection with a laptop or some other device to verify it's wired correctly?

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:49 am
by thankyouOB
I concur with everything Davewill says.
I have a ethernet connection, too.
Your problem with regard to car timer not working has nothing to do with the Blink.
You need to reexamine how you have set your charger in the Leaf and be sure the Blink timer is not set.

My Blink has had issues, but it has always charged.

Also, you should change your headline. The word "hardwired" is misleading, causing folks to think you have an electrical problem not a connectivity issue.

Re: Hardwiring problems with Blink

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:57 am
by EVDRIVER
Folks, we have far to many threads on the Blink unit. Please post in one of the existing threads.

Thanks!