Has anybody worked with EVDataUtility?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djlins

Hi there,

I am an old time coder but new to the Nissan LEAF and big wide world of OBD. I know the forum rules and have spent days reading up in here on OVMS and the genius workings of garygid and Turbo3 and the others (get a quick bit of flattery in before my questions heheh)

So I want to bluetooth out the SOC to my Android phone on a regular poll. I thought that would be a good place to start with a nice little pet project of mine. I thought I had struck gold when I came across the following project done a few years ago which seemed to just do exactly what I want right away:
http://digitalcommons.calpoly.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1087&context=cpesp

I grabbed the code and installed it and I have a Nexus 7 which is the target phone to use. I then paired to an ELM327 v1.5 and started it up. I was hoping for an immediate response of everything working and data flooding in and being displayed on the screen. Instead the code hangs at a while loop after it connects successfully and it asks for data received which never goes above zero bytes. To double check the device and pairings and LEAF (2014 model) I installed LEAFSpy lite and it works fine on the same bluetooth pairing with the same hardware.

I guess my question is: Am I flogging a dead horse trying to get that code working? Has the Nissan LEAF configuration changed from the 2013 to the 2014 models? I essentially need to get the SOC out to a phone so I can send it straight out to a webservice and record it.

By the way I know my first post seems to be just a "HELP MEEE" post but I do hope I can become an active member on this forum as my project progresses so I can pay people back with advice of my own further down the line.

Cheers all for reading this far,

Lindsay.

Hi Turbo,