New in Northern VA

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DIYev

Hi all,

I just purchased my first Leaf (see signature). It's my third EV, though I'm still very new to all of this. I have a Vectrix VX-1 scooter into which I retrofitted Leaf modules, and I played around with a Miles ZX40S for a year before deciding a higher top speed and fewer cars would make more sense for me. I was also fortunate enough to have bought a house with solar panels already installed, so happy to have the "free" fuel! Now I just need to find a way to get my wife (and I) over the severe range anxiety this car has been causing in the short time we've owned it so far.

Some of my first projects will be to 3D print front strut covers and to retrofit a HomeLink mirror from a 2014 Nissan Maxima in place of the original auto-dimming mirror. I would also like to retrofit a backup camera, though am torn between bolt-on original parts using the proper wiring harnesses (at least my hatch harness needs to be swapped) or 3D printing a housing for a backup camera also removed from the Maxima and squeezing it in maybe near the license plate light.

Glad to be here and to learn!

Welcome to the forum. I too have a VX-1 that now uses Leaf modules, although it was the first owner who converted it. I may eventually merge this topic with the main topic for new members, but I see no hurry in doing that.

Welcome Kevin and congrats! How about that free power!! Took me a month or 2 to manage the range anxiety. When you can post a couple of pics of this electric scooter. Good luck.

Thanks for the welcome, and apologies if I mis-posted!

Here's a shot of my Vectrix and its fancy Leaf modules. It's as if they were made to fit this bike!

48927258242_64cacc03e8_c_d.jpg

48926536113_4be01a7167_c_d.jpg