NiallDarwin
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:58 am
Delivery Date: 12 Dec 2015
Leaf Number: 004321
Location: New Zealand

Re: Controlling the Leaf Inverter on its own

Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:46 am

Great work going on here. Thanks for sharing :D

I've been working with a plug'n'play module from http://www.thunderstruck-ev.com/dilithium-vcu.html. It goes great on a G2 motor inverter but only in reverse on a G1 (I haven't ruled out wiring harness mistakes but I'm 95% sure I've done it right). Do any of you have data from a G1 and G2 inverter to share and compare? I'm interested to see any differences that there might be.

Here's my rig going:
[youtube] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xjG_AcFs70 [/youtube]
Last edited by NiallDarwin on Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

Lothsahn
Posts: 634
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 4:35 pm
Delivery Date: 04 Jan 2018
Leaf Number: 007797

Re: Controlling the Leaf Inverter on its own

Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:26 pm

Very cool! That is quite nifty indeed.
2011 Silver SV, purchased 2018, lives in Missouri (previously in CA)
LeafSpy Pro + BAFX Products OBDII dongle
Battery swap 2019/04/24 (87% SOH, 12 bar)

celeron55
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:52 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Controlling the Leaf Inverter on its own

Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:49 am

I've been using my DIY inverter controller now for over 4000km in my project. It works well with full power and torque available.

I've been asked about certain additional details about the inverter protocol (by email, mostly), so I went and added some to here: http://productions.8dromeda.net/c55-lea ... tocol.html

Here's some snow drifting, because of course:



EDIT: Here's a gallery of the insides of that thing: http://packages.8dromeda.net/evprevia/gallery/

NiallDarwin
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:58 am
Delivery Date: 12 Dec 2015
Leaf Number: 004321
Location: New Zealand

Re: Controlling the Leaf Inverter on its own

Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:58 pm

celeron55 wrote:I've been using my DIY inverter controller now for over 4000km in my project. It works well with full power and torque available.

I've been asked about certain additional details about the inverter protocol (by email, mostly), so I went and added some to here: http://productions.8dromeda.net/c55-lea ... tocol.html

Here's some snow drifting, because of course:



EDIT: Here's a gallery of the insides of that thing: http://packages.8dromeda.net/evprevia/gallery/
Awesomeness! :mrgreen: :D
There's so many of those stinky Estimas stinking up NZ, what a good use of them!

rich888
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:31 am
Delivery Date: 25 Aug 2019

Re: Controlling the Leaf Inverter on its own

Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:43 am

Amazing work!

So the Canbus messages the DUE is sending is enough to convince the Leaf controller that the rest of the car is there and working?

I have seen a few videos of people struggling to get the drive running due to not having every ancillary box attached? Or is that only a problem if using the Leaf VCM? The DUE is basically replacing the VCM?

bkvszomorito
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 2:45 pm
Delivery Date: 22 Jul 2013
Leaf Number: 403789

Re: Controlling the Leaf Inverter on its own

Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:10 am

Hello,

I have an inverter from the 2018MY LEAF, and I would like to try to install it to my 2013MY. Do you know, if the motor power is preset in the VCM or the inverter? Currently I have the 30kWh VCM, but the question is, if I install the 2018MY inverter, to the 2013MY, will I get 150PS?

ybpvin
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 4:55 am
Delivery Date: 24 Aug 2018
Leaf Number: 022135

Re: Controlling the Leaf Inverter on its own

Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:56 pm

Kind time!
I want to implement a counter algorithm from 0 to 3. E celeron55 on the page has an algorithm of 0x07 | (counter < < 6), but I cannot implement it. How do I write the code correctly?

nlspace
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 10:21 pm
Delivery Date: 06 Jun 2017

Re: Controlling the Leaf Inverter on its own

Wed Apr 08, 2020 11:31 am

In the setup section of your code, define an integer counter, eg

int k=3; [This initializes the counter.]

then in your main program you can increment this counter and adjust it such that you can use it's value as the data field in the PID at the byte location.

k++; [This line increments the counter.]
k=k % 4; [This line adjusts the counter to be a value from 0 to 3. (% gives modulus remainder)]

Put your code to write the data field:
PID_number[data_byte_field_number]=k;

e.g. if using PID 0x11A, the counter is in data byte field number 6 or 0x06
so you could fill that byte with a line in the main program such as:
0x11A[6]=k;
Good luck and keep safe,

Return to “LEAF CANBus”