“Clear Long Term Capacity Data” dealer scam?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leafnewbie1

I am new to electric vehicles and I bought a 2011 leaf with 30,000 miles, it has 12 capacity bars so I was under the impression the battery was replaced. When I picked up the vehicle it was fully charged and the range was 76 miles. Things change quickly when I drove it off the lot, I live 30 miles from the dealership and it barely made it to my house. I started doing some research on the vehicle and I found that it was taken to a Nissan dealership a month before I bought it for a battery usage check and the capacity bars were at 7... so my question is can the capacity bars be reset without putting a new battery in? The Nissan dealership told me this is not possible but obviously something was done. I purchased an obd2 recently and leaf spy. Here are my readings:
SOH-60.11
AHr-39.43
Hx- 37.65

I read how that could be done a couple days ago but I think the thought was it would have to be done using a Nissan Leaf service computer.

Your test results are believable for a 2011 Leaf however. There are some sharp Leaf folks here.

Leafnewbie1 said:
I started doing some research on the vehicle and I found that it was taken to a Nissan dealership a month before I bought it for a battery usage check and the capacity bars were at 7

I would take the car back to the dealer, show them this information and ask for an explanation. Then ask them to take the car back and if they refuse, take the case up with Nissan USA customer service, the BBB, or whoever. This is an obvious rip-off and you have been scammed.