hardwire EVSE and secondary L6-20 type receptacle...

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ljwobker

Trying to figure out the most elegant and future proof way to set this up... I'm an engineer by training but have little practical experience in the world of residential wiring... all the theory makes sense, but I don't know the building codes for anything.

I'll get the upgraded Nissan EVSE, which supports 16A charging and uses an L6-20 plug. I'm likely going to have an AV or Schneider (not sure yet) installed too, but no matter what I want to go ahead and get a 30A/7.2kW capable EVSE day one rather than a 16A.

*Ideally* I think what I'd want to do is run a new 40A rated circuit from the panel, and on the other end I would put both the EVSE itself *and* a junction box with an L6-20 receptacle. The point here is to have the L6-20 available for backup purposes only... one question is whether or not it's legal from a code standpoint to run both the hardwired EVSE and the receptacle onto the same circuit...

In that same line of thinking, I *might* even decide I want to run a 50A circuit at some point... so if I do this, I can run the circuit with 8AWG wire (rated to 50A) then install a two pole 40A breaker in the panel... then wire up the L2 wall-mount EVSE, and also install a couple of junction boxes, one with the L6-20 that I need for the upgraded EVSE, an "empty" junction box to future-proof the install... so if at some point I want to put an L6-30 or even an L6-50 receptacle I can do that... or if I need to take the EVSE down off the wall to upgrade it, I can do that too.

I figure that the incremental cost of doing 8AWG and a couple of "unnecessary" junction boxes the first time around will save me a ton of headache and work down the road... does that logic make sense?