more nubie questions

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jjdoe

More disinformation from the salesmen? (mostly honest mistakes. That's a lot of detail to remember, for many cars, and they aren't researching like we are). We were told the tires would only last 20k. ('the OME tires are cheap'). Thoughts? They are cheap, on most cars. Online, it seems most are getting ~40k?
And I'm fine with no spare. I can't think of the last time a tire burst. Or that I even got more than a slow leak. (but as a mechanic, I was amazed at how much metal there was in most tires!). Are run-flats recommended? I was never a fan of the fix a flat stuff.
He also said the car couldn't be jacked up. I guess he was just saying there was no jack. And I jumped to the conclusion that it had something to do with the battery.
While looking, should I buy Leaf Spy, and a OBD2 module to check the cars, or would that be done when the car gets checked out at a dealer?
We were also told that Carwings will be gone by 2017. ATT is dropping the 2G signal that it uses? He didn't know if there would be a replacement, or an upgrade for the earlier models.
thanks

I only got 22,000 miles out of the stock Ecopias, but many have had better luck. My problem is that I like to accelerate very fast off the line, which definitely takes its toll on the front tires. Some have found that the replacement Ecopias are a better quality than the OEM ones.
NEVER use the factory fix-a-flat goop, as it will clog the tire pressure sensor. The Leaf does include a tiny compressor, so you might be able to limp to a nearby tire shop, but I have AAA. Some have found a way to carry a spare, and get a jack from the junkyard.