New here

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jerrymander

Hi,
I have a '20. 65,000 miles so far. Primarily interested in diy maintenance.. brakes, etc. Since I'm at year 5 with it, just did brake flush and put new ecopia tires on it... Next is to change the fluid in the reduction gear box. and I think I recall a radiator in it?!? If so, time for a coolant flush. It says online that the battery is air cooled, so what is the radiator for? ... and, I'll poke around here to learn more about common issues with the car. :)

Maybe... It would need fans, too. I'll get a closer look. maybe it cools the gear box thingie... I'm new to EVs, but not ICE car stuff.

Hi,
I have a '20. 65,000 miles so far. Primarily interested in diy maintenance.. brakes, etc. Since I'm at year 5 with it, just did brake flush and put new ecopia tires on it... Next is to change the fluid in the reduction gear box. and I think I recall a radiator in it?!? If so, time for a coolant flush. It says online that the battery is air cooled, so what is the radiator for? ... and, I'll poke around here to learn more about common issues with the car. :)
It likely keeps the inverter and motor cool and provides coolant to the cabin heater.

There is no recommended coolant change until you hit 15 years or 120,000 miles.

Last edited:
It likely keeps the inverter and motor cool and provides coolant to the cabin heater.

There is no recommended coolant change until you hit 15 years or 120,000 miles.
I saw a hose going to the case that contains all that stuff. 15 years seems like a long time!! I'll double check the book. Funny thing.... I was at the dealer and asked for the coolant for the Leaf, and they were like "Coolant for a Leaf?!? Whaaaaa?".. but yea, its there. Thanks fer the info. :)