Newbie question: considering buying used

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iusc12

Hello everyone, been lurking for a while on this forum after considering buying a used Leaf for the past few months. We are now renting a small house that has a 30amp NEMA 14-30 outlet for the clothes dryer that we are considering using for a Leaf once we get one. Is it safe to use this for Level 2 charging with an older Leaf model, such as a 2015?

I have to move around a lot for work, so it's unlikely that we'll keep this house for more than a year, so we are trying not to invest too much in upgrading the electricity setup in the house. As a newbie, I've tried learning what I can about electrical stuff as well as the relevant EV info, but still feel like I can't quite grasp everything. If anybody can offer tips, that would be much appreciated. Thank you!

It's safe as long as you use an EVSE (aka charging cable) that is limited to 24A. A 2015 Leaf can take up to 27.5A if it has a 6.6kW charger on board but a 30A circuit should be limited to 24A for continuous use such as charging an EV. Most early Leafs that have a 6.6kW charger also have a CHAdeMO input so if your car doesn't then you can use the 30A socket without issue. If the car does have a CHAdeMO input, then use an EVSE that has a max current setting of 24A.

Most early Leafs that have a 6.6kW charger also have a CHAdeMO input so if your car doesn't then you can use the 30A socket without issue.

The exception would be a 2013 (and, IIRC, a 2014) Leaf SV without the Charge Package. In those cases the car would have no QC port but would have the 6.6kw onboard charger, requiring a 40 amp 240 volt circuit (or a 15 amp 120 volt circuit)...