Newbie to Electric Cars, LEAF and Lease in California

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sqnewton

Hello,

I am a newbie to all of the above and I was wondering how good of a deal is going for a leased LEAF. I live in the south Bay area and the distributor is offering me a lease with:

- $0 down
- $299/mo lease for 39 months (first month no payment) and 12.000 mi/year. With 8.375% tax it is $324/mo.
- $859 once pre-pay maintenance to cover the 39 months (assume + tax = $931)
- $2,500 cash back
- Total over 39 mo is $9,813 lease payment
- road assistance included for the full term

I am considering extra costs of $0.14/kW (calculated from my bill), $500 of ding and cosmetic fixes at the end of lease (offered by Nissan), DMV registration (year 2 and 3) of $350 (estimated?) and insurance of $800/6-months (from insurance company).

I have a Honda Accord 96 with 130,000 and between 28-30 mi/galon (measured) and lately I am driving avg. of ~20mi/day ~ 8,000/year.

Is this really a good deal because of the car itself, the lease, the technology?

I appreciate your comments and feedback. Thank you! :)

Not the best deal out there, and there is one pure profit makers for the dealer that I WOULD NOT BUY AT ANY PRICE. You don't need the options that will available on a 2013 (heat pump / 6.6 charger) for your small driving needs and mild climate.

- $0 down (smart)

- $299/mo lease for 39 months (first month no payment) and 12.000 mi/year. With 8.375% tax it is $324/mo. (I personally would limit to 36 months to stay in the warranty period)

- $859 once pre-pay maintenance to cover the 39 months (assume + tax = $931) (DO NOT BUY!! There is no real maintenance beyond rotating tires. PURE PROFIT FOR DEALER)

- $2,500 cash back (you need to apply to California Center for Sustainable Energy for this)

- Total over 39 mo is $9,813 lease payment