Potential new Leaf owner..a few questions

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roop550

Hello everyone, I am in the market to buy a 2018 LEAF and had a few questions. I just went through their Limited Warranty manual and might have missed or misread a few things. (English is my 3rd language).

Also, I have NEVER bought a car from a dealership before under a factory warranty lol. So I'm new to the warranty covereages and want to know what and how do they cover the repairs and such.

My commute is 60 miles, roundtrip, 4 days a week. So ~250 miles a week. The vehicle that I am currently eyeing is a 2018 LEAF with 15k miles, from a dealer.

1. How reliable are these? (battery/inverter) for the long-term?
2. Is almost every maintenance is covered under warranty related to the Li-Ion battery and other
breakdowns of parts?
-EV system is covered for 60 months/60k miles and battery coverage/capacity coverage is 96
months/100k miles.
3. What are your guys' costs that have been so far with the factory warranties and what repairs
were not covered?
4. I've done some research about the range and I think it's safe to say that they will run ~150
miles or more on full charge, BUT is it more efficient or better for the battery to be charged
100% or 80%? I hear different things on this topic.
5. I came to the understanding that these batteries are Air Cooled and shouldn't be plugged-in to
charge right away after driving or whenever the car is hot. How long should I wait before
starting to charge it again? 99% of the time, I will be charging it at home.

I might have missed some questions or will have more, please bear with me lol. I have a V8 and Prius, trying to replace the Prius with the LEAF (trying to get my county's rebate).