$6,700 estimate to install Blink EVSE by Sunwest Electric

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pksd1

My friend just got an estimate to install Blink charger at his home and its whopping $6740. Since I am not an electrician (neither is my friend) I was wondering if someone can answer some questions.

1. Has anyone else got a similar estimate ?
2. Does EVproject let you get a second opinion from another contactor ?
3. Does anyone know any qualified electricians in San Diego area that can perform at least part of the upgrade (i.e. upgrade the panel to 200A; majority of the cost)

I will post the cost breakdown as soon I figure out how. :)

Here it is:
Sunwest.jpg

pksd1 said:
My friend just got an estimate to install Blink charger at his home and its whopping $6740. Since I am not an electrician (neither is my friend) I was wondering if someone can answer some questions.

3. Does anyone know any qualified electricians in San Diego area that can perform at least part of the upgrade (i.e. upgrade the panel to 200A; majority of the cost)

Call Baker Electric. (760-745-2001) They did my install and were great. (for the record, I'm in the EVP, so I didn't pay anything. Baker certainly knows what they're doing, so I would expect costs to be reasonable.)

Tell them Jim Hamilton sent you. ;)

Jimmydreams said:
pksd1 said:

Call Baker Electric. (760-745-2001) They did my install and were great. (for the record, I'm in the EVP, so I didn't pay anything. Baker certainly knows what they're doing, so I would expect costs to be reasonable.)

Tell them Jim Hamilton sent you. ;)

Will do Jim...I will pass this on to my friend right now. He is in shock right now, not sure if he wants to go ahead with LEAf purchase anymore, and its coming in 7 days :(

that bill makes some sense. But it doesnt jibe with my experience with Sunwest and Ecotality.