User avatar
davewill
Posts: 4756
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:04 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, US

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:58 pm

Valdemar wrote:... I think the problematic terminal block you're referring to is the one connected to the wires feeding the EVSE (white plastic block with 6 screws on the left), shouldn't be a big deal to change it for something more robust I would think. ...[/img]
Yes that's the one I've seen pictures of burnt. I guess I hadn't bothered to notice it was connected to the input cable rather than the output.
2014 Rav4 EV, Blizzard Pearl White
2011 LEAF SL w/QC, Blue Ocean, returned at end of lease

User avatar
wsbca
Posts: 504
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:33 pm
Delivery Date: 0- 0-2011
Location: SL-E powered by 3KW AC Solar in SoCal

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:02 pm

Exact same problem with mine a couple of months ago.

I agree that it's probably the pilot wire. We had a short period of intermittent function including a couple of very incriminating instances where nudging the charge cable on the ground caused it to kick in. Then it finally failed for good.

When I took the cover off my unit I noticed that the cable had pulled some of the way through the strain relief, and the bullet connector for the pilot wire was actually disconnected! BINGO I thought. No joy, it still didn't work when I hooked the connector back up. Which was consistent with the fact that for a while it was actually flaky when moving the cable itself far away from that junction but still worked sometimes. I had a flaky connection within the cable and the connector coming apart just made it a permanent failure, not directly related.

Anyway...you can easily check the continuity of the pilot wire once you get the cover off the unit. The blink end terminates in a junction block (might need a fairly thin probe or wire to get the J1772 end).

Solution was to buy a new Leviton cable off of Amazon ($170 or so) and wire it in. The crimps at the Blink end were not something I could reproduce easily so I used wire nuts at that end, repurposing the last few inches of each wire from the original cable so the crimps would be solidly in place in the screw terminals. Other than that hack, which I hope won't burn down my house, it works great now.

As noted in the thread I followed from someone else who did the same thing, the Leviton cable is slightly larger than the original, so the strain relief pieces are a very tight fit. I had to dremel out one piece, and remove a rubber gasket to get it all to fit back together, but now it's nice and snug.

Here's the thread which I followed, and the link to the replacement cable:

viewtopic.php?f=43&t=13557&start=20

http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-A2034-PEV ... B00FH7EVN8
I was promised a jet pack!

Valdemar
Posts: 2379
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:32 pm
Delivery Date: 09 Sep 2011
Location: Oak Park, CA

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:14 pm

Nothing's wrong with wire nuts, but I'd personally use Polaris connectors instead of wire nuts in this situation, they are a bit expensive but it is good stuff:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/polaris-connect ... 43e3a75319
'11 SL, totaled
-1CB@33k/21mo, -2CB@53k/33mo, -3CB@68k/41mo, -4CB(41.5AHr)@79k/49mo, -5CB(38.85AHr)@87.5k/54mo
-0CB(66.14AHr)@87.5k/54mo (BBB)
60.5AHr, SOH 94%, 105k miles
9kW Solar

astrorob
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:57 pm
Delivery Date: 06 Jun 2011
Leaf Number: 3307

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:31 pm

yeah, i think if i had signed up again for the EV project extension that they might service it. but then again even when i was under warranty during the initial EV project, they were unable to resolve the issues with the unit, including the ground fault problem.

i think rather than messing with this thing i'll just get rid of it and get coulomb's new home EVSE. i assume that one's going to be reasonably trouble free... almost anything would be compared to the blink :)

rob

edit: i'll take a look inside and see if the pilot came disconnected there, but seems unlikely - most of the stresses have been on the car side of the cable as we park right next to the EVSE and the bulk of the cable is lying on the ground.

Valdemar
Posts: 2379
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:32 pm
Delivery Date: 09 Sep 2011
Location: Oak Park, CA

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:40 pm

I know Blink gets a lot of bashing on this forum, but mine was nearly trouble-free for 4 years of regular usage. $600-800 for a new EVSE or $200 for a new quality cable which will likely give you years of usage, your choice.
'11 SL, totaled
-1CB@33k/21mo, -2CB@53k/33mo, -3CB@68k/41mo, -4CB(41.5AHr)@79k/49mo, -5CB(38.85AHr)@87.5k/54mo
-0CB(66.14AHr)@87.5k/54mo (BBB)
60.5AHr, SOH 94%, 105k miles
9kW Solar

astrorob
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:57 pm
Delivery Date: 06 Jun 2011
Leaf Number: 3307

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:00 pm

well i had one of the first blink EVSEs and believe me it's been nothing but trouble. i had planned to do the "dumb evse" mod if it ever started acting up again, but of course that won't fix this problem.

camasleaf
Posts: 604
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:20 am
Delivery Date: 17 Jun 2011
Location: Camas, WA

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:21 pm

The pilot wire most likely got damaged at either end: at the strain relief or the handle. I would take my chances with cutting a 8-10 inches of end at the strain relief. Strip the wire and put it directly on the contactor, that is how the top side is and it works just fine. Check the tightness of the screws after a few weeks.

In 4.5 years I replaced the cable and later the contactor. Both failed because something I did, I cannot blame Blink.

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=14894#p416604

Edit: I just checked the cable connection at the contactor. No signs of heating, the insulation is still soft, screws still tight. The Blink is set at 24A and charges 99.9% of the time the 2015 Lead. I feel confident that it is just fine to put the bare wire in the contactor. I did not want to give bad advise.
2011 SLe 06/17/11 Over 71000 miles, GID 213 49.88 AHr; 76%SOH; 16.5kWh
2015 SV 09/02/14, Over 15000 miles, GID 287; 61.12AHr; 98%SOH; 22.2kWh
5.7kW DC System:

astrorob
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:57 pm
Delivery Date: 06 Jun 2011
Leaf Number: 3307

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:38 pm

anyone know if it's possible to disassociate a blink evse from one's blink account? also there does not seem to be a "reset to factory settings" in the blink's menu system... does that feature even exist?

thanks

rob

Valdemar
Posts: 2379
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:32 pm
Delivery Date: 09 Sep 2011
Location: Oak Park, CA

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:50 pm

astrorob wrote:anyone know if it's possible to disassociate a blink evse from one's blink account? also there does not seem to be a "reset to factory settings" in the blink's menu system... does that feature even exist?

thanks

rob


Can they still get through when calling home? I remember seeing errors in the log it could not connect, now Wi-Fi no longer works so it doesn't even matter anymore. You can hack into the Linux OS it's running and disable communications module, not exactly a complete didsssociation but close.
'11 SL, totaled
-1CB@33k/21mo, -2CB@53k/33mo, -3CB@68k/41mo, -4CB(41.5AHr)@79k/49mo, -5CB(38.85AHr)@87.5k/54mo
-0CB(66.14AHr)@87.5k/54mo (BBB)
60.5AHr, SOH 94%, 105k miles
9kW Solar

astrorob
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:57 pm
Delivery Date: 06 Jun 2011
Leaf Number: 3307

Re: my blink evse... stopped working (?)

Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:51 am

well i thought if i gave it to someone then it's going to be reporting in to my account when they use it, which i don't really want. i think it's more an issue of disassociating it from blink's side. but i can't find anything on their website to delete an EVSE. i guess i have to call them.

you are right though, on the EVSE side i don't think there's any association. it's probably just reporting it's GUID and all the work is happening on the server side.

rob

Return to “Blink”