2018+ ZE1 Battery Extender

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arthur8

Hello friends,

I live on Brazil and here we have very few EV options, the only solid choose available here is 2018+ (ZE1) 40kwh nissan leaf. They can be found cheap even with a good battery condition.

Since i have solar offgrid system in my home it makes total sense to dump the extra power into the nissan leaf. The issue is that the leaf have a low range (even with a healthy 40kwh battery) for my needs. And i don't have other options to buy on my country. I know leaf's can be hacked for a increased range.

I saw this video on YT that shows that you can upgrade the battery bank very easily:

Since i do high voltage for a living and i know how to do this safely.

The thing is: He is doing this mod on a Gen1 leaf and i want to do it on a newer 2018+ ZE1 leaf.

Searching about increasing the range for the 2018+ ZE leafs i found this. They say they can increase the range for 2018+ ZE1 leafs: products | MUXSAN

"Muxsan's main product is the luggage space-mounted extender battery for the Nissan Leaf. We can install battery extenders in any Nissan Leaf, including the models post-refresh (2018+, a.k.a. ZE1)."

The question is: How exactly this muxsan's mod works? It's impossible to import this extender kit to my country because of the price and customs taxes, so i would like to know how exactly this mod works and how i can do it myself.

It's just plug the additional battery before the contactors like seen on the video and leaf range will be increased? Even with a newer 2018 ZE1 leaf? Anyone has done this mod on a newer leaf?

Thank you.