Easiest way to get started with Leaf CAN bus hacking under Windows?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pmbdk

Hi guys, I have no less than three OBD2 dongles for my Leaf: A WiFi dongle, a BT 1.5 dongle and a BT 2.1 dongle. The last one is what I use with LeafSpy and it works perfectly. The first one does as well, but having to connect through WiFi is annoying.

However, I would like to connect to the CAN bus from my Windows laptop; what is the easiest way to do that? I tried pairing with the BT 2.1 dongle, but was not successful; then I tried the BT 1.5 dongle, which paired fine and under device manager I got 2 com port (edit: in fact, I am not sure that these are the correct serial ports as they do not disappear when I disconnect the OBD2 dongle). I then tried connecting to both using SavvyCAN (which I have never tried before) and after setting up the connections, it just said Not Connected all the time, so I have no idea what else to try...

Any recommendations?

I also have a couple of arduinos, some RPis, some HC05 modules and some CAN modules, but I would really like to have some basic comm up and running on the laptop first as it is much easier for initial debugging/development.

Last edited:
I am pretty sure Leaf Spy only runs on Android/iOS. I would really like some OBD2/CAN SW which could connect directly to the bluetooth dongles I have. ELM-USB seems to be USB only.

Yes, Leafspy runs on Android, and that is the problem. You should be able to link your wi-fi dongle to the laptop, but then the question is what software? Most all laptops I've ever seen can link to Wi-FI, many also have Bluetooth, but less than have wifi.
SO linking your laptop isn't the problem, the software is the much bigger problem.