DarkStar
Posts: 2066
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:06 am
Delivery Date: 25 Mar 2011
Leaf Number: 568
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Contact: Website

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:56 pm

garygid wrote:If we could just "open" the Nav system's OS so that we could add many CAN-Data display screens there.

Does the "special" set of button pushes get us to screens that would be helpful?

I forgot the sequence: something like Menu, Menu, Menu, Map, Map, ... ?
Everybody knows it's Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A!

Here's the actual procedure:

1. Turn the power switch ON.
2. Turn the audio system off.
3. Press the “MAP” switch 3 times. Press the “PWR” switch 2
times. Press the “MAP” switch once.
Mikiko (2011 Nissan LEAF ETEC) Status:
Reserved: 04/20/10 | Ordered: 10/01/10 | EV Project Blink Installed: 03/22/11 | Delivered: 03/25/11 | VIN: 568

Oregon Electric Vehicle Association | Electric Auto Association

User avatar
garygid
Gold Member
Posts: 12469
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:10 am
Delivery Date: 29 Mar 2011
Leaf Number: 000855
Location: Laguna Hills, Orange Co, CA

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:11 pm

On, Audio Off, Map 3x, Pwr 2x, Map 1x

Thanks.
Does it show us anything interesting or helpful, like temperature?

If the system is powered ON with an SD card in the "spare" socket, the system might look for a special "update" file name on the SD card?
See SOC/GID-Meter and CAN-Do Info
2010 Prius
2011 LEAF, 2014 Tesla S85
2018 & 2019 Tesla Model 3
PU: SDG&E
Solar PV: 33 x 225W -> 7 kW max AC
Craigslist: Xm5000Li Electric Motorcycle

User avatar
Ingineer
Posts: 2741
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:09 pm
Delivery Date: 13 Jul 2011
Leaf Number: 6969
Location: Berkeley, California
Contact: Website

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:14 pm

Unless that thing is running Linux, I suspect gaining access to it would be not worth it. The only possibility I can see is writing new software for it from the ground up. That's still a huge project!

We've had the same issue in the Prius world.

-Phil
Easily Learn Electricity HERE! - - - - Website: http://evseupgrade.com/[/size] - - - - Like us on Facebook: EVSE Upgrade

DarkStar
Posts: 2066
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:06 am
Delivery Date: 25 Mar 2011
Leaf Number: 568
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Contact: Website

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:10 pm

It doesn't look like there is anything particularly special in the system diagnostics menu, but the service manual only walks you through upgrading the software...

The screenshot they have shows the following, but the scrollbar indicates they are already at the bottom of the page:

Clock Settings
Delete Unit Connection Log
User Data Initialization
Version Information
Software Update
Mikiko (2011 Nissan LEAF ETEC) Status:
Reserved: 04/20/10 | Ordered: 10/01/10 | EV Project Blink Installed: 03/22/11 | Delivered: 03/25/11 | VIN: 568

Oregon Electric Vehicle Association | Electric Auto Association

palmermd
Posts: 2627
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:19 pm
Delivery Date: 31 Mar 2011
Leaf Number: 1100011011
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:24 pm

Ingineer wrote:Unless that thing is running Linux, I suspect gaining access to it would be not worth it. The only possibility I can see is writing new software for it from the ground up. That's still a huge project!

We've had the same issue in the Prius world.

-Phil
Just do like they do with the Prius. Put in a second mini computer in the car and have it do whatever you want....I'd like to see a better Navigation. Add a switch to swap between displaying the factory screens and the screens from the new mini computer. I imagine that the second computer might just duplicate many of the screens on the factory system so that you don't have to switch back and forth very often.
Michael

Leaf from 31 March 2011 - Traded 18 April 2019 for Tesla Model 3 Unicorn
Driving electric since 1996


Leaf Bar Loss

AndyH
Posts: 6388
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:43 pm
Location: San Antonio

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:43 pm

palmermd wrote:Just do like they do with the Prius. Put in a second mini computer in the car and have it do whatever you want....I'd like to see a better Navigation. Add a switch to swap between displaying the factory screens and the screens from the new mini computer. I imagine that the second computer might just duplicate many of the screens on the factory system so that you don't have to switch back and forth very often.
Absolute best navigation software I've ever seen is CoPilot from ALK Technologies. (I'm not affiliated in any way.)
http://www.alk.com/copilot/ipad/

Maybe combine nav, energy display, and custom displays onto an iPad?

Image

Or maybe take-over the Leaf's display entirely with custom software?

User avatar
hill
Gold Member
Posts: 1870
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:05 pm
Delivery Date: 27 Mar 2011
Leaf Number: 0659
Location: Lake Forest, CA

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:43 pm

turbo2ltr wrote:I have decoded how to override the time to charge times. It was one of the options I wanted to test. For me the more preferable gauge to override was the temperature. Unfortunately according to the service manual, the temperature doesn't get updated unless the car is moving at least 12 MPH! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . snip
I believe what you actually mean is that the ECU's have to "BELIEVE" that the speed sensors are sending a 12mph signal . . . and I know at least two electrical engineers who has successfully spoofed their Prius into believing said data that is in fact not true.
;)
just a thought

User avatar
turbo2ltr
Posts: 1376
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:13 pm
Delivery Date: 04 Feb 2011
Leaf Number: 185
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:16 pm

It doesn't matter. Yes I could send it a fake speed signal to go along with it (which would show up on the speedo and put miles on your car, who would want that?) but I did even more testing (I REALLY wanted this to work) and found it's just not going to work. The dash messes with the value too much.

The dash dampens the temp more going up than it does going down. So the temp will drop almost instantly, but takes a very long time to increase. There seems to be a time lockout where it will not change for the first 5 minutes after start, then it seems to update a bit faster. It also seems to be speed related. It seems to update much faster above 65.

I ended up replacing the temperature sensor with a fixed resistor for some tests so I could take the actual temperature out of the equation. It took a full 10 minutes before it even got close to the temperature it should have read. and even then, sending fake messages seemed to result in an averaged display, not the number I asked for.

It seems an external display is the way to go. So now the question is, do I come out with something simple and quick or more elaborate that might take longer...
Silver SL-e
Ford F450 Crew Cab Hybrid Conversion

User avatar
evnow
Moderator
Posts: 11480
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:41 am
Delivery Date: 25 Feb 2011
Leaf Number: 303
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:01 pm

turbo2ltr wrote:I have decoded how to override the time to charge times.
I can live with that.
1st Leaf : 2/28/2011 to 5/6/2013
2nd Leaf : 5/4/2013 to 3/21/2017
Volt : 3/25/2017 to 5/25/2018
Model 3 : 5/10/2018 to ?

User avatar
turbo2ltr
Posts: 1376
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:13 pm
Delivery Date: 04 Feb 2011
Leaf Number: 185
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: My findings on the CAN bus

Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:04 pm

evnow wrote:
turbo2ltr wrote:I have decoded how to override the time to charge times.
I can live with that.
Unfortunately the right two digits only go to 59!

I suppose I could encode it as 10:00 would be 100.0...6:54 would be 65.4. Kinda clunky

Edit: I'm an idiot, this won't work either.
Last edited by turbo2ltr on Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Silver SL-e
Ford F450 Crew Cab Hybrid Conversion

Return to “Engineering”