NEED help with Driving TIPS for EV

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mksE55

OK I am not a new driver but lets assume I am new to the EV leaf thing ( I am really new to EV driving) how do I get better mileage out of this vehicle. I am stuck at 3.8-3.9 miles/kWh. I drive in D mode , Eco is way to slow and takes all the fun out of the car. I would like to drive normal and obey all the speed limits( most of the time ). I see carwings thinks I am getting 5miles/kWh thats way off. I dont use the A/C or heat now , weather in TX is great nice and cool, the radio is a must so. Looking for any tips or tricks you guys can help me with. I have been lurking and doing some reading but I didnt see any topic on extending your driving range by better driving habits. I know some of the standard ICE techniques help but what am I missing on the EV side

TIA

slingshot

The easiest gains would be from driving slower on the freeway, and drive in a way that allows red lights to turn green before you arrive.

It needs to be PAINFUL to push that gas pedal. ECO mode helps with that.

Drive slow; virtually, the slower, the better where able (down to about 12mph). Super, super light on the brakes, which means letting off the gas pedal much sooner before the traffic light/stop sign. It's best if you can roll all the way to it, without brakes (but not super practical in busy traffic).

Anything you can do to keep the speed as constant as possible helps, and overall slow.

I'm in the same range as you are, 3.9 or so. Fun driving equals inefficient driving, unfortunately.