Newbie here from Canada: looking at getting my first and only vehicle, will a used leaf work for me?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hi everyone,

I was 99% sure I was going to gets new 2016 Prius base upgrade package but now that I've seen a consumer report article on buying a used Nissan Leaf I'm debating if I should just get it instead.

I live with my parents and plan on staying 3-6 years till I pay off my debt and can buy my own house. I'm hoping to live a simple, debt free and low emission life. I work 20km round trip away from my house. On average I people drive 50-60km in city when I'm going shopping with my mom and sister. I want a car that is cheap to run and that will last me 5-10 years. I've seen one leaf on Autotrader.ca for $17,000 with 40,000km on it it's a 2012 SL. There is also a 2013 SL for $23,000 50,000km and a 2013 S for $16,000 35,000km. I'm hoping I could get a leaf for $15,000 to $18,000 cash. This would save me $13,000 compared to the 2016 Prius.

I do on long trips every once in a while which is 180-250km one way. I could take my moms car for drives like this if need be. There are charging stations level 2's along the way (40-80km drive before getting to a charging station) with one level 3 in Truro, Nova Scotia. In the winter I probably wouldn't risk going on a long trip in the leaf. It can get down to -30 in New Brunswick with the windshield.

I'm wondering if I would have to park the leaf inside? I don't have a garage available so that would be a dealbraker.

do I have to install a level 2 charging station? I have a wall outlet outside that is easily assessable that I could just keep the car plugged into as much as possible during the winter to keep the battery warm.