B mode is interesting

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dndrich

I have just spent one week with my new Leaf. I just love the car. I've put about 300 miles on it.

Anyway, I have been playing with various modes just to see how they feel and how they affect range. Now, this is just anecdotal testing, but there you are. I don't need much range in my day to day driving anyway, as a big day for me is 40 miles.

First, I have driven some in Eco mode. I just don't like it. Sure, if I were going a long ways, perhaps it would help me get there and not run out of electrons, but the car just feels sluggish. So, I usually go in D mode. I am a smooth driver, and do not speed, even in my gas cars. So, over the past week I have had no problem maintaining 4 kW/mile or more while using the fantastic climate control. I coast to a stop as I used to do in my gas cars, and then brake. Very nice.

Today I decided to try B mode while driving mixed driving today. I did some highway and city in my errands. I found B mode to be really great. It is kind of like having an older sports car with a high compression engine. You can still coast, but when you take your foot of the pedal the engine brake kicks in and really regenerates well. I get to the light or stop sign nicely. It really boosted my kW/m to almost 5 today on a moderately hot day with climate control, and yet the car remained very fun to drive. I may go that route for a while. Those of you with 2011-12 don't have that mode. It is very different than eco mode. Really interesting programming they did with it.

TomT said:
It's basically Eco mode with more regen... At least that is how it feels to me compared to my 2011.