Help calm my Range Anxiety!

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SparkyEV

Hi all,

I've been absorbing all of the great info on this board while I wait impatiently for my LEAF (DB says June 9th). I've been a little worried about range and my commute, but the posts from those of you that have taken delivery have made me feel a little bit better. Here's my situation. My commute is 55 miles round trip, and I can't charge at work. For those of you in the Bay area, my commute is essentially from one end of Hwy 85 to the other (from the 101/85 junction in South San Jose to the 85/101 junction at Moffett Field). It's 49 miles on the freeway and 6 miles on surface streets. Elevation change between home & work is only about 300 feet (work is at sea level). I've been driving a Honda Civic Hybrid on this commute for the last 5 years, so I have some experience maximizing my mileage, but I wouldn't say that I've graduated to hypermiler status just yet. I get about 50 MPG in my Civic on a warm day if I'm careful. My main concern is that while I would drive 55-60 on the freeway if I could, for large chunks of Hyw 85 during rush hour my choices are 65-75 in the carpool lane (to avoid road rage) or stop and go in the other lanes. I only get 50 mpg in my Civic if I hop between the carpool lane and the #2/3 lanea as conditions change, but that's not always easy since they change fast.

So, LEAF test pilots, do you think I'll have much margin on this commute? Will I be able to drive to lunch or run errands on the way home, or will it be uncomfortably tight? I feel like I took a gamble, but I really like the idea of driving an EV. I've read some encouraging testimonials from drivers in less EV-friendly areas (colder, more hills), so I take that as positive news.

Thanks for your time and thanks to all of the posters for sharing your experiences!