Newbie Leaf shopping

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Banger

Hi all,

I'm a Leaf newbie currently shopping for what may become my first Leaf. Looking at a 2020 SL+ with less than 10k on it. CPO with the seven-year/100k mile warranty coverage any CPO Nissan would get. Dealer is asking $19k and says they will participate with the government point-of-purchase rebate of $4k, so effectively a $15k car.

It's tax time and the dealer is cognizant of that, of course, so they're not moving much on price. Not that it's a bad deal, but I'm a shrewd bargain-hunter if nothing else.

Anyway I'm here to read and learn about Leafs. Already have a LELink BLE dongle cornered and plan to check out any Leaf with LeafSpy.

My 2020 SL+ has been trouble free for the last 4 years, I already have +84K miles on it. Never had to get any work done that wasn't part of some recall (software updates for safety and what not), so it's basically been maintenance free all that time minus the expense of tires and windshield washer fluid.

But that good will only carries you so far, having LeafSpy as a tool will help you determine if the Leaf you are looking at was taken care of or driven into the ground as a drive share / taxi for example. ;)

Feel free to post some LeafSpy screenshots here to get some feedback about how the general health appears. Screenshots of the 1st and 4th screen can be more useful as the 2nd and 3rd are geared more towards real-time monitoring and chart plotting. Even better, go into service mode (5th screen after you enable it ) and read the the DTC stuff, screen shot that too just in case.