Whats the issue with driving slow/speed limit?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi: I am a newbie to the forum, and EV's in general, and getting up to speed in the past couple of months as the reality of a real, usable electric car is happening now. Its very exciting.

One point I wanted to ask is there seems to be a lot of reticence and unwillingness in the forums to drive slowly, but legally, on multi-lane roads. Why is this?

I sometimes have driven slowly in the past on highways, usually for 2 reasons:

1) To make a mileage run, to see the max MPG I could get out of my vehicle over a stretch of 50-100 miles. usually going 45-50 MPH, in a 55 MPH road, or 55-60 on a 65 MPH road. ( I live in the East coast where our limits are lower than the West, so YMMV )

2) Construction zones with a ridiculously low speed limit, with no construction happening, and just want to drive slowly (3-5 MPH below the posted limit ) just to make a stupid point , and to ENSURE I will not get a speeding ticket. (fines doubled in construction zones! )

There are other reasons I would be driving slowly that I cannot remember now, but cruise control is your friend, and I am of the camp that if you do NOT have to pay attention to your speed manually, you have more mental cycles to pay attention to other things happening on the road in front of you.