Charging lid won't lock after charging

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

onohayato

Hello, I'm a newbie owner of a 2020 Nissan LEAF SL Plus.

One thing that I haven't been able to figure out is -- how to properly close and lock the charging lid/cover after charging.

It's hard to describe this in words, but please allow me per below:

1) After I'm done charging, I remove the charging cable from the connector, which isn't a problem.

2) Thereafter, I close the charging port, then when I try to close the charging lid to close & lock it, it will NOT lock!

3) The only way I can make the car recognize that the lid needs to be locked, is for me to:
a) Start the car
b) Put in R or D/B and move the car for a few feet

4) If I follow the above steps 3a and 3b, then park the car, somehow the car "realizes" that the lid needs to be locked.
At this time, when I close the lid, it locks automatically -- like magic!

So what I don't understand is:

a) Why won't the charging lid lock automatically, after I'm done charging and I close the lid?
b) Is this a common issue and/or part of a recall for a 2020 Nissan LEAF?

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

If you need me to upload a video to demonstrate the issue outlined above, please let me know.

Thank you!