Hello World, New (to me) Leaf owner as of April 2024

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LeafBoy556

Greetings,
In April I bought a used 2023 Leaf SV+ with 35K miles on the clock. The relatively high mileage worried me a little but everything else checked out and the price was right so I took the plunge. So far I couldn't be happier with the car. She's nowhere near as cool looking as my previous 2003 Corvette Z06, but she's far more civilized. 99.9% of my driving is under 25 miles one-way in traffic at moderate temperatures. It's immediately obvious to me that the little Leaf is built to do just that. I hope I can learn a few things from this forum. This is my first electric car, but I've been doing my own work on gas and diesel ones for about 30 years. If I can pass along some of my experience I will be glad to do so

Thanks gozer. The only way I have to measure battery temp is the onboard gauge. Every time I look at it, the gauge reads right exactly in the middle of its range. I have also reached under the car and felt around after a trip. Sometimes it's just slightly warmer than ambient temp, most times I can't feel any difference. FWIW I use the car pretty gently: short trips, low speeds, no hard acceleration, battery never deeply discharged nor fully charged, L2 charging at night, etc. Based on my experience, battery temp in hot weather appears to be of no concern. Fast charging or extended highway driving might raise issues, I just don't know. I hope my information is helpful.