Leaf Progress Report from the "Old Man"

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

derkraut

I have now driven my Leaf 4000+ miles over 5+ months; and would like to share the following:

1. I'm over 70yrs of age, and have owned/driven 18 different cars over the past 55+yrs. I am a retired ASE Certified mechanic, and have done lots of work on various ICE cars over the years. I mention this to let you know that I am somewhat mechanically competent.
2. The Leaf is the best car I have ever owned--hands down. I haven't had a single issue with this car so far (Carwings is useless to me, so I don't use it).
3. By utilizing super off-peak timed charging, my operating cost is averaging 1.3 cents per mile. That equates to approximately 295mpg, based upon $3.85 gas here in SAN. Yes, I drive on freeways about 50% of the time, at or near the speed limit.
4. I have owned and driven Porsches, Mercedes gas and Diesels, Fords, Cadillacs, Chevrolets, Hondas, Toyotas, etc., etc. The Leaf is by far the most pleasurable car to drive, for me. My wife of 54+yrs absolutely loves it also; and I can tell you that that is very important.
5. I have the Blink charger, separate SDG&E meter, and TOU rates. I almost always charge to 80%, and intend to drive this car for at least 10yrs (if I'm still alive).
6. My "other" car is a 2005 Prius, which is our "long range" vehicle. It is also an outstanding vehicle, and I haven't had a single issue with it (46M+ mi). The Prius has never been to the dealer, (except for a Coolant Pump replacement under recall, and recent tire replacement). I do all the maintenance myself.

Now....if I lived in a really cold winter area, I would have to think carefully before buying the present Leaf. I don't think it is adequately equipped for continuous operation in sub-zero weather conditions. JMHO, of course. :)