Warranty on 30kWh replacement battery?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chootie

Aloha, newbie here with a question regarding my 2012 Nissan LEAF. Is the replacement battery under the same warranty?

I bought a the LEAF used in January of 2017. It had a newer 30kWh battery installed that same month. The previous owner was talked into a new LEAF off of the lot and decided to sell to a private party instead of trade in. I bought the car and had the full 107+ miles of range (sometimes GOM stated 119 miles).

Currently, my LEAF only gets about 75 miles. It has dropped to 11 of 12 bars.

I am curious if there is a warranty on the replacement battery and what the terms are. Has anyone replaced their replacement battery? Thanks in advance for any insight into my inquiry.

There is an issue with the 30kwh battery in which it either appears to lose capacity quickly but really only needs the Battery Management System reprogrammed, or in some cases it really does lose capacity fast. Which is the case with your car? You'll have to get the free BMS reprogram, wait a few months, and see if the bar that you will regain stays, or goes away again. As for the warranty on the battery: interesting question with the 30kwh battery...

Thanks for the reply. I did read about this online but was not sure if it pertained to my 2012 LEAF with the newer battery. It stated that it pertained to 2016 and 2017 LEAFs, so I have yet to inquire with my local Nissan dealer to get the correction made. Anyone know if this is covered for a 2012 with newer battery?

"Nissan Customer Service Campaign Statement