Differences between charging 80% and 100%

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carolle

I'm new to LEAF. I just started to use LEAF last week for 2-year lease. My usage styles are:
- Typical commute is just 15 miles/day.
- On the weekend, it could be 40-50 miles. I'm trying to use as much as I can :D
- Using only 120V charging. (Rented house :cry:)
- Living in Northern CA. (No snow)

My dealership simply tells me that charging 100% is good for me, because I'm leasing it. But, I'm wondering in terms of "charging electric cost".

It seems that charging from 80% to 100% takes more time than charging to 80%. Is this correct?

If so, it implies more energy is required to fully charge, which in turn means more electric cost. I'm wondering my understanding is correct or not.

If there is no difference between charging 80% and 100%, I'd love to charge 100% so that I can always LEAF whenever possible.

Hello,
The reason it takes more time to charge from 80% to 100% is because the onboard charger is reducing the charging rate as the batteries "top up." There is no additional cost per kWh, it's just that it takes longer to put the energy in.

BUT.......time is money

So if the time is costing you then that's a different matter.

Don

P.S. They are implying that any battery degradation caused by charging to 100% is not your concern because of the short lease term. Personally I'm an 80%ter because I want my battery to last. I own my Leaf.

It is generally better to charge to 80% unless you need 100% to make your destination. No problems from charging to 100% when needed, provided you don't leave the Leaf at 100% for more than a couple of hours. Otherwise, leaving Leaf fully charged is not good for the battery pack and will hasten loss of capacity. See also the Wiki for detailed information on battery capacity loss (or what we think we know, anyway):